Hong Kong Bans Transit Travelers From the US

Passengers traveling from countries with the high risk of the COVID-19 virus spread will not be allowed to transfer or transit via the Hong Kong international airport from January 16 to February 15, 2022.

The Group A countries list currently consists of about 150 countries, including the United States, Japan, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Russia and others. All the countries where at least one Omicron case was found are added to this list automatically.

In order to control the spread of the highly infectious Omicron variant of COVID-19 and further strengthen the protection of airport staff and other users, from 16 January to 15 February, passenger transfer/ transit services via Hong Kong International Airport for any persons who in the last 21 days have stayed in Group A specified places as specified by the Government will be suspended.

Transfer/ transit services for passengers from other groups of specified places, the Mainland [China] and Taiwan are not affected.