President Trump Announces Travel Ban from Europe to the US

US President Donald Trump has announced a ban on travelers to the United States from Europe during a televised address to the nation. The ban will be in place for the next 30 days in an attempt to slow the spread of the coronavirus

The ban on travel from Europe will go into effect Friday, March 13 at Midnight and does not include Britain, Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland or Wales. It also doesn’t impact Turkey, Russia or other non-Schengen nations.

Acting Homeland Security Secretary Chad F Wolf issued a statement after the president’s speech saying, in part: “Today President Donald J. Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation, which suspends the entry of most foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States. These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. This does not apply to legal permanent residents, (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation.”

President Trump’s Video Announcement

Share this post...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn